Happy Holidays!

Standard

I have gotten a little bit of sewing done lately.  I’ve been working on catching up with my guild medallion quilt.  I think there’s one more to do before next months meeting.  I tried to brighten it up with this last border and I think it worked very well.

My friend Mary at http://mary-myneedlethread.blogspot.com/ is getting ready to host another small quilt swap.  This one will have a winter theme.   Anyone who is interested should go and check it out.  I loved participating in the last one she had.  It’s a fun way to meet quilters and share our love of quilts and sewing.

Now in honor of the Christmas season I wanted to share a couple of my favorite Christmas things.  First up is my family’s very favorite and addictively delicious Crunchy Chewy Snack recipe.  This is the one treat I remember having all my life and I really think everyone in my family would claim it as our favorite holiday treat.  It disappears faster than the rest too.

Crunchy Chewy Snacks

6c. corn flakes
1 1/2c. coconut
1 1/2 c peanuts
1 1/2c. peanut butter
1c. sugar
1c. karo syrup

Boil sugar and syrup until bubbly and stir in peanut butter. Pour over cereal, peanuts, and coconut in large bowl and mix until well covered. Pour onto a buttered cookie sheet. Let cool and break into pieces.

 

Next up is a link to one of my favorite Christmas songs Carol of the Bells sung by one of my favorites Hayley Westenra.  Hers is the first holiday cd that I listen to this time of year.  I hope you will all enjoy it as well as the treats and I hope everyone is having a great holiday season.

About jsoosay

I have been working with all kinds of needlework projects for 10 years. I'm always looking for inspiration and new ideas to try out. Quilting is my favorite medium for my creativity but I like to take time for various other forms of needlework.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

