Stripes and Stipples

Standard

Last week my mom asked me if I’ve learned how to stipple, since she knew of my new found machine quilting mania.  I hadn’t tried it yet so I got out this block that I made years ago.  Honestly this has probably been in my unfinished pile for at least 6 years.  I made a bunch of these blocks with hand embroidery in the middle when I was first learning hand embroidery, and was planning to make pillows with them.  At least this one finally got one step closer to being finished.  As for the stippling, I of course had a blast!  I wish I’d started quilting my quilts years ago.

The reason my mom had asked was that she was almost finished with this mini Twister quilt.  The whole quilt measures 10″.  The pattern suggested stippled quilting so she asked me to quilt it for her.  I’m a little jealous since I haven’t even had time to quilt my own Twister quilt but I haven’t quite planned the back for it yet.

Now as for the stripes, I got the blocks finished today for the Kaffe stripe quilt I’m making for Suppose.  I was worried about the blocks with the set in squares but they worked really well.  I didn’t have a single problem and I attribute that to the fact that I actually read the pattern for once and followed the instructions.  It’s crazy how much of a difference that makes isn’t it?  🙂  The setting triangles are going to be a light purple.  I’m hoping that I can get it all finished tomorrow.  Then I can get back to the UFO pile I mentioned earlier.

2 responses »

  1. Great job! I am leaving soon for a class I am taking today (my first) on machine quilting. I probably should have done this long ago! Hopefully I will find that not only can I do free motion quilting but that I enjoy it too! Keeping my fingers crossed….

  2. I was scared for years to learn machine quilting because I didn’t want to ruin my quilts. I’ve loved it though. When I turn on some music and get quilting I don’t want to stop. Good luck and I hope you have as much fun as I have been. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

