Getting UFO’d

Standard

Every once in a while my attention span goes haywire and I can’t make myself settle down to any project.  This is how the last couple of days have been for me.  I’ll spend half an hour doing this or that but I never get anything done.  This tends to drive me and my family crazy but after a few days I’ll get back to normal.  After I finished the car seat cover I heard another ufo calling my name.  A couple of years ago I went to Fall Quilt Market in Houston.  I got lots of luscious fabric but one of my favorite purchases was 4 fat quarter bundles of Kinkame’s European Taupe II line.  After a lot of thinking I decided to use them in a quilt called Bits and Bars from the book Batik Gems by Laurie Shifrin.

 

I had already made this quilt top from a pattern in that book.  This is one of my favorite quilts.  I had to show it because does anything look familiar?  It is made in almost the same colors as the cover I made last week.  I even used some of the left over scraps from this for that.

Back to the Taupe quilt though.  I did get it out and I had only 2 blocks left to finish.  I got them and the center of the quilt done and now I’m working on getting the borders done a little at a time.

 

 

I  first worked on getting dozens of 2 1/2″ squares basted to flange pieces and then sewing them into strips for the borders.

 

 

I am happy to say that I got the borders made and sewn on to 2 sides of the quilt and have only 2 more to do.  Hopefully I can make myself sit still long enough to get them done by tomorrow and show just how lovely this quilt is.

Leave a Reply

