Cozy Christmas quilt and beautiful batiks!

Standard

I got my flannel Christmas quilt top finished today.  It’s so soft and snuggly I can’t wait to get it quilted and be able to use it this Christmas.  It came out at 60X80 inches.

It came together really quickly I cut 10 1/2 in. squares and used the olfa rotary cutter (on of my all-time favorite tools), to make 7 1/2 in. circles.

Then using my blind hem foot I just raw edge appliqued the circles to the squares.

Voila!  A really fast but fun quilt.

Now onto something new.  I’ve been wanting to break out my stash of batiks the last week or so and I found the perfect project.

I’m going to be making the Pinwheels and Playgrounds Car Seat Cover, by Kimberly Bourne of Main Street Market designs.  When I was working in a quilt store I was lucky enough to meet Kimberly and her beautiful baby and see just how beautiful this cover is.  She told us that she had written a pattern for it and directed us to her website http://www.mainstreetmarketdesigns.com.  I had to have this pattern even though I was completely single and had absolutely no plans of having a baby anytime soon.  Now I’m figuring that even though there is no baby on the way it doesn’t hurt to be prepared.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

