Projects Finished

Standard

I haven’t felt great the last couple of days so I’ve been staying in bed a lot.  The good news is that I finished a couple of projects I’ve been working on for a while.

The first is the Shell and Popcorn Papoose Set, from the book Oh Baby! Crochet.  This went together pretty fast.  In fact by the time I noticed what I was doing I had done about 5 extra rows.  It turned out to be very sweet!

The second is something that I’m really proud of.  It’s not the most elaborate or amazing quilt I’ve ever done, but it represents a lot of learning for me.  This quilt top was made around 2 years ago when I took a class to learn how to sew disappearing nine patch blocks.  I went to the class with a background and accent fabrics and a box of scraps and fat quarters.  I was in love with the finished quilt top when it finally came together.  Then a couple of weeks ago I decided that it was time to try out my mother’s mid-arm quilting machine.  She’s had it for years but I’ve always been scared to try it.  This was the quilt that got to be my practice run.  I had so much fun quilting it that i was sad when I had reached the end and had to make myself stop to bind it before putting another quilt on to be quilted.  Yesterday I finally finished the last side of the binding!  I love this quilt because this is the first time I can say that it is all my own work.  I can’t wait to keep quilting now and to keep pushing myself to learn and improve.

About jsoosay

I have been working with all kinds of needlework projects for 10 years. I'm always looking for inspiration and new ideas to try out. Quilting is my favorite medium for my creativity but I like to take time for various other forms of needlework.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

